Posted by: mommyq | November 17, 2004

6 weeks, 6 days

Ahhh, the joys of pregnancy hormones!! You never know when or why they are going to strike. The last 2 days or so, I have been getting VERY emotional.

Last night, Pat and I were sitting watching the Amazing Race. It is pretty much the only reality show we watch now but we LOVE IT!). I think it has to do with the idea of travelling all over the world. So, the contestants are sent to Iceland for their first leg of the race and are told to drive to the glaciers. One of the contestants is SUPER annoying and constantly bitching at his wife to move faster, play smarter etc. etc. We are laughing at this guy and Pat says “Man, if I tried to pull that shit you would throw me into one of the glaciers and they wouldn’t be able to get me out!” I started to laugh and then burst into tears at the thought of my hubby at the bottom of a glacier! I sat there for a good 10 minutes blubbering like an idiot!! Thank god Pat knows I am pregnant otherwise he would have me commited!

I booked my first midwife appointment this morning. I will be seeing Carol Cameron (my primary midwife) on December 13 @ 4PM. The first appointment is approximately 1 hour (the rest are commonly 30-40 minutes). From what I understand it involves medical history intake, internal exam and, possibly hearing the heartbeat!!!! I also have to call today to book the first appointment for the Integrated Prenatal Screening! We have decided that we are going to go ahead with it for piece of mind. The test is in two parts: Part 1 happens at 11-13 weeks and involves an ultrasound (YAY) and a bloodtest. It is then followed by a second blood test at 15-16 weeks. The results of all of the tests are then sent to the Genetics Department at North York General to be processed and the results can take up to 2 weeks to come back! For more information: See the flyer!

I did have something else that I wanted to post about but I don’t remember now! (PREGNANCY BRAIN)

OK, I edited to add because I remember:

Things I am craving are:

Peanut Butter and Jelly on toast
Fruit, fruit and more fruit!
MILK! (we bought a 4L bag of skim milk on SUNDAY and we have to pick more milk up tonight on the way home!)

Things I am craving that I cannot have or must be careful of:
Salmon (If I could, I would eat it every day!)
Tuna Salad Sandwich
Sushi

Things I no longer enjoy:
If you will believe it, coffee does nothing for me any more and I would prefer to have a cup of tea. I was so worried about avoiding caffine that I went through a week of avoiding coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc. I missed having hot beverages so I called Dana (my resident expert) and asked her what to do. She told me that caffine in moderation (1-2 cups per day) if fine to consume! I was so excited about this and had a coffee the next morning on the way to work. I didn’t even finish it. Something about it just didn’t agree with me. Tea on the other hand, I could drink gallons of it (but limit myself to one in the morning and the occasional one in the evening).

Anything greasy or fatty turns my stomach. I don’t really enjoy french fries anymore and if meat I am eating has even the smallest amount of fat, I cut around it. I’ve never really liked the skin on roast chicken but being pregnant, I cannot even look at it! We had a roasted chicken last week and I gave Pat my skin and had to turn away while he ate it! LOL The smell of margarine in the pan, makes my stomach turn. Pat made scrambled eggs for breakfast Saturday morning and I enjoyed the eggs but I could not stand being in the kitchen while he was cooking it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

