Posted by: mommyq | December 14, 2004

We love our midwife!!!!

We had the meeting with the midwife last night and we really really are happy with our decision to go this route! She wanted to start the appointment with any questions that we had so, I took out the handy dandy notebook and hit her with about 15 questions! LOL She handled herself well and answered them all with ease!

She gave me a bunch of requisitions for my ISP ultrasound and for a ton of bloodwork! She checked my heart and lungs and then I asked if we could listen for the babies heart. She said only if I wouldn’t freak out if we didn’t hear anything because I was right on the cusp and it could be too soon to hear it with the doppler. I said that I promised I wouldn’t as I had already seen my babies strong heartbeat twice already! Well, she couldn’t get it so we will have to wait until our next appointment (January 18th) to hear it! What a great birthday present for me!

On a sadder note, I learned last night that a friend lost her battle with liver cancer on Sunday and passed away. She was a wonderful person that maintained her positive spirit till the very end and I feel blessed to have known her. She left behind a wonderful husband and a much loved 3 year old little girl. My thoughts and prayers are with her family during this difficult time.

Responses

  1. I am so sorry Sue. Your friend’s family will be in my thoughts and prayers.

    What a great appt!! I am so glad you like your midwife. 🙂 Sorry that you couldn’t hear the HB, but it does give you something to look forward to in the new year!!! (or you could always rent… http://www.fetalassure.ca ) LOL!!!!! Man, I should be an affiliate!! LMAO!

    See you soon!!!!!!!!! Love Dane 🙂

    • Dana, I have been so good at NOT renting it but I think I will probably cave in the next few weeks! LOL

  2. Oh my God. I am so sorry to hear about your friend Sue, that is so tragic. Her family will definitely be in my thoughts and prayers.

    On a happier note, I’m glad that your appnt went well 🙂

    Cathy

    • Thanks Cath!

  3. Thoughts on a snowy night..

    I’m really sorry about your friend. It’s always hard to lose someone that has meant something special to us…

    Glad to hear though that your appointment went well and that you “love your midwife”. Too bad you couldn’t hear the heartbeat but January 18th isn’t that far away 🙂 Isn’t bloodwork fun? I’m so glad to hear that there’s more later………..I don’t think I will have any blood left by that time 🙂

    • Re: Thoughts on a snowy night..

      I just hope that it is not more than a few bottles!


Leave a Reply

Categories

