Posted by: mommyq | January 27, 2005

17 Weeks

Feeling much better in time to post my 17 week update!!! 2 more weeks till my BIG U/S and 3 more weeks and I will be at the HALF WAY MARK!!!! I always thought that at 17 weeks I would feel REALLY pregnant but I don’t yet. However, last night when I laid on my belly, I had to get off because I felt like I was laying on a turtle! LOL I am also at the stage where I wish to HECK I had rented the doppler. Since I am not yet feeling any movement, it would be so nice and reassuring to be able to just listen to my babies heartbeat every night before bed.

On to the update:

The baby:
You are now 17 weeks pregnant which is the beginning of week 18. Your baby measures about 19 cm long from head to toe (or 7.6 inches) and weighs about 280 grams (9.8 ounces). Mommy’s Note: You really need to check out 19CM on a ruler! Our baby is getting SO BIG!! Many women elect to have a routine ultrasound between 18 to 20 weeks (usually at 19 weeks). Unborn babies need to be at least 18 weeks gestation for the ultrasonographer to clearly see the normal physical structures of their body, including their heart, lungs, kidneys, brain and spine. An experienced ultrasonographer may even be able to tell if your baby is a girl or a boy by this stage (although this is not always 100% accurate!)

Your baby’s skin is still fine, transparent and slightly wrinkled because they do not have a layer of fat yet. The many blood vessels flowing underneath their skin makes it appear purply-red. The scant whiskers of hair on various parts of your baby’s body have now become a fine layer of down covering them all over (called ‘lanugo’). This hair helps protect your baby’s skin and is only shed a few weeks before they are due to be born.

Your baby will now explore their own body with their hands and if you are having twins or more they may try and locate each other, by touching and exploring the body of their brother or sister. There is plenty of fluid around your baby at this stage, allowing them to turn, twist and change position frequently. Some women definitely feel their baby move now (called ‘quickening’), however for many others, this exciting event is not experienced until 20 to 22 weeks.

Your baby’s systems are chugging along: Their lungs are exhaling amniotic fluid, their circulatory system is working, and their urinary tract is up and running.

The Mommy:
By now you should have gained 5-10 pounds. Your lower abdomen swells. Your uterus is about two inches below your belly button. At it fills the pelvis and grows into the abdomen, it will push up your intestines, forcing them to the sides.

Are you 17 weeks pregnant? Check out PregnancyCorner.com’s week by week calendar to learn more about you and your baby.

Responses

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

    Hi Sue,

    Happy Birthday!!!! How does it feel to be 30? I can’t believe we’re both 30, wow, time goes by so fast!

    P.S: I’m glad that you are feeling better.

    Cathy

    • Re: HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

      Hey, I wasn’t born until 2:30 so I still have 5 hours of being 29!!!!!!!!!

      LOL

      I cannot believe we are both 30 either. Heck, I still vividly remember when we were 16 and drooling over Jordan Knight!

      • Re: HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

        Yes, doesn’t it seem like yesterday?

        Well, roughly 2 more hours left of your twenties (haha)

        Cathy

  2. Happy 30th B-day!!!

    *sung out of key*
    “Happy Birthday to you,
    Happy Birthday to you,
    Happy Birthday dear Suzie
    Happy birthday to you!”

    Welcome to the oldie club!! 😉 Have a great day!

    Love Dane 🙂

    • Re: Happy 30th B-day!!!

      Thanks Dane!

      But, as I mentioned to Cathy, I still have 5 hours before I join the “OLD” club and I am going to enjoy every second! LMAO

      Yes, I am in denial.

  3. Ultrasound

    I was watching Breakfast Television yesterday and they had 3D ultrasounds going on during the live eye segment. I would have mentioned it yesterday, but silly me, I didn’t think you were between the 17 and 32 weeks you needed to be in order for it to be worth it. Apparently I can’t count.

    It won’t be long now until the baby starts moving around – won’t be long at all.

    Happy Birthday! Hope you have a great day.

    • Re: Ultrasound

      Thanks! I had a pretty not too shabby birthday weekend! 😀

  4. Happy Birthday Sue…
    Now get on and write your update for today. Makes work a little more interesting 🙂

    Stef

    • Hey Steph,

      Your birthday’s coming up too isn’t it? But your still in your twenties, your not a member of the Oldie’s club yet (haha).

      I feel like I haven’t seen you in so long Steph, I miss you 🙂 We have to get together soon k?

      Cathy

    • Thanks Steph.

      Sorry I missed the update for Friday! But, I promise to update something today! LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

