Posted by: mommyq | February 24, 2005

Update on Braxton Hicks!

Just wanted to update that I spoke with my midwife regarding my “contractions” and she confirmed that they were Braxton Hicks and nothing to worry about!

She explained that they are only cause for concern if they are more consistant (5 minutes apart), cause a sharp or “biting” pain, and are accompanied by watery discharge or blood. She said normally women don’t even notice them (especially first time mommies) as they are often painless.

Oh, since I am updating, I should also add that I just noticed that I may have what is called a Linea Negra which is basically a dark line that forms from your belly button to your pubic bone and it is caused by hormones. The only strange thing is that mine runs from my belly button UP so, it may be something else. I am off to do some reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

