Posted by: mommyq | March 2, 2005

Motherisk

So, I have to share my funny phone call with Motherrisk.

I went back into the clinic because I am not feeling any better since about Sunday and I am getting really frustrated with this whole thing! My nose is so stuffed up that I cannot smell or taste anything. Last night I went to bed with Vicks under my nose and I couldn’t even smell it! VICKS! Usually I can smell Vicks from a mile away.

So, the doctor told me to take a DM cough syrup for the cough and to get some Cepacol throat spray for my dry scratchy throat. Well, when I got home I called Motherisk just to be sure that I can take this stuff. The lady on the phone goes through a series of questions to set up your profile before they give you any information. So, she asked the usual: name, DOB, how far along, due date, last menstrual period etc. etc. Then, she asks if I drink or smoke? ….NO Do you take any recreational drugs such as marijuana or cocaine? This set me into a fit of giggles and I couldn’t stop. Can you imagine calling in to motherisk and saying yeah, I do a few lines of cocaine per day but I just wanted to make sure that this cough medicine isn’t going to harm my baby! WTF?

Responses

  1. But what did she say? Were you allowed to take them?

    Stef

    • The legal drugs I mean

      Stef

      • HA HA HA HA!! Yes, I am allowed to take them (the legal ones!).

  2. If those things don’t work you may go to a clinic and ask for a prescription for a nasal spray such as Flonase or it’s cheaper generic brand Beclomethonase. They are a cortosteroid and are perfectly safe. They also work awesome and will help take away the stuffiness. I take it due to allergies but my symptoms are often very similar to that of a bad cold.

    • Thanks for the tip! However, (and I am crossing my fingers) things are seeming to be MUCH better today and I think that this cold has FINALLY run its course!

      Doctors are so scared to prescribe anything to pregnant ladies that it makes it hard. I asked him if there was anything that I could use for my nose and he said no…decongestants are not good. Turns out after some research online (and what you just posted) that there were many options that would have saved me some discomfort (and a dry peeling VERY sore nose).

      Motherisk was great but they unfortunately cannot recommend anything…you can call them and ask about a specific med and they will tell you yes, no, etc. But, I tried calling and asking what I could take for a certain symptom and they were unable to help.

      • Huh, must have had a dolt on the phone. 😦
        I have called Motherisk countless times while pg or breastfeeding and they were always sooo helpful! They even gave me a list of meds I could take for my symptoms…each time. Meanwhile the drs I saw told me the only meds “approved” for pg was Tylenol…gee thanks!

        Sorry they weren’t more helpful, but I am glad you are starting to feel better!

      • Yeah, I guess I got a dummy when I called! 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

