Posted by: mommyq | March 14, 2005

Culinary Corner…

It has been a while since I have shared food/recipe stuff but I was so impressed with the dinner I made last night that I had to share! Pat has been doing A LOT of the cooking of late for dinners because I have just been too tired but, now that I am off, I have great amounts of energy again!

I decided to make Fettuccine Carbonara as I always love it in restaurants and had heard that it was fairly easy to make at home. I saw them making it on the Food Network on Friday and was sold and had to attempt it.

You start with your pasta (I used Fettuccine but I am sure you could use any pasta you like!). The key to pasta, as I have learned by watching Food Network, is to REALLY salt your water. So, I brought my water to a boil and then added a good handful of Kosher Salt. I added the pasta and set my timer for 12 minutes. Then, I started the bacon..I had about 5 slices and cut them into tiny pieces and added them to a hot pan (high heat) with some extra virgin olive oil. Once the bacon was almost done, I drained the oil, added some sliced mushrooms and 3 cloves of finely chopped garlic and allowed it to continue cooking under medium heat. Because I had drained ALL of the oil, the pan was a bit dry so I simply added a few tablespoons of pasta water and this worked like a charm.

In a mixing cup, I whisked together 1/2 cup of heavy cream and 3 egg yolks (NO WHITES). Then, once the pasta was done, I was ready to assemble (pretty easy so far huh?) I reserved a cup of pasta water in a cup before draining my pasta as it may be needed in the sauce.

I then added my bacon and mushroom mixture into my large pasta pot (not over any heat), added back the pasta, and tossed it with some tongs while slowly pouring in the egg mixture. The heat from the pasta, etc. is what cooks the eggs…just make sure not to do this over a burner as too much heat will scramble the eggs. I added a bit of my pasta water to make the sauce a nicer consistency and continued to toss. Then, finally, I added a few hanfuls of freshly grated Parmasean and some cracked black pepper.

Diner is served!!!!!!!!!!!!

Responses

  1. Glad it turned out well – I’m going to try it on my Pat and see how he likes it. He loves Carbonara and I’ll let you know how it goes.

    • If he likes Carbonara then he will love it! My Pat isn’t a big cream sauce person so I wasn’t sure how he would like it but he did.


Leave a Reply

Categories

