Posted by: mommyq | April 18, 2005

Spring has arrived!!!

Hope everyone had a good weekend and ENJOYED the weather! It is so nice to be able to leave the house with a light coat and sandals! NO MORE LACES! YIPEEE!! HA HA

We had a busy weekend and splurged with eating out twice! Friday night a bunch of us got together at Jack Astor’s for a LATE dinner (it was about 9PM before we were seated). It felt nice to be going out later so I treated myself and had a few MOCKtails (aka Virgin Cocktails). It was nice to feel like a grownup again! HA HA I had one called a Sassafrazz which was SOO good….it had OJ, Pineapple Juice, Grapefruit Juice and fresh raspberries. Mmmmmmmmmmm. We didn’t stay out too late since both Shannon (who spent the night) and Pat had to work on Saturday but, we had fun.

Saturday night we went out for dinner with Billy and Cathy to RED LOBSTER (my favorite!) and had a nice time. (Well, except for the Lobster Pizza…that was HORRIBLE! LOL) I had my usual Ultimate Feast which has a lobster tail, crab legs and two types of shrimp. After dinner we went back to Cathy’s mom’s for coffee and Patrick and I also picked up a cradle (from when Mede and Ole were little). I cannot wait to get it all set up and ready for Syd!!!

Sunday I was at a baby shower for Pam (Patrick’s step brothers wife) and it was tons of fun. We played lots of games and I even won one! It was the “how many jelly beans in the jar” game that I won so not only did I get a prize, I got to keep the 333 jelly beans and their container! LOL Pam and Mike are having a boy so there was a room full of blue stuff by the end of it! She is due May 15th so just under a month to go for them! Exciting times! Patrick spent the day with Stan and Mike and they did “guy” stuff. (which I guess included watching TV and not eating anything for lunch!) We got back from the shower at about 5PM and they had not eaten anything. Silly boys!!

Then, the weekend ended on a not so nice note. We went to bed at about 11PM and I started feeling pains in my belly. They were sharp and very painful and of course my tummy was tight. But, since I had gotten a bit of a chill just before, I was pretty sure they were not contractions. Pat wanted to go to the hospital but I didn’t want to get there and wait all that time for them to tell me I had gas pains or something stupid! LOL So, I decided to get in the shower to get rid of the chill and see if that helped with the belly pains. It wasn’t really doing much for either the chill or the pains but then all of a sudden, out of the blue and still in the shower I was SICK to my stomach! (Can we say EWWWWW!) Poor pat was just standing outside of the shower (probably mortified) asking if there was anything he could do. This continued for about 5 minutes but as soon as I was done, I felt SO MUCH better. I dried off, got into some jammies and crawled back into bed. I then slept till 6:30 this morning when I got up to say by to Pat and pee. I managed to keep some toast and tea down without trouble this morning so it looks like it has passed.

Responses

  1. Yikes Sue!!! Hope you are feeling better this morning!!!!

    I always felt horrible (contractions, pains, etc) after a really busy weekend. Could it be your body telling you to TAKE IT EASY!!??

    I have been jonesing for some Red Lobster for months now!! MMmmmm…

    • It could have been that as well Dane. I know I was exhausted by the end of the day Sunday and my back ached from sitting in a chair for most of the bridal shower. I did manage to snag a couch chair towards the end and that felt SOO good.

      I plan on taking it easy today and not doing much even though I am dying to windex all of our windows! HA They just had the window cleaners come to do the outside which always makes you realize how bad the inside is! LOL But, it can wait till tomorrow!

  2. OMG Sue, that sounds scary. I bet you ate something at the shower that didn’t agree with you. It’s good that you threw up though and got rid of it. I’m glad you were able to keep some food down this morning 🙂

    Seeing the cradle on Saturday made it seem really real for me, I bet it really made it feel real for you too!!

    Btw, I was at a baby shower in March and they had really cool games – we can talk about what we’ll play at your shower.

    Cathy

    • It was really scary especially since this is my first time, I have NO idea what REAL contractions feel like! 😦 Poor Pat said he was up every hour checking on me. I think he was convinced I was going to go into labour!

      I love having the cradle at home! I have it all put back together and now I just have to find a spot for it and get some bedding!

      As for shower games, you know me..I am pretty much game for anything! LOL

  3. Wasn’t the weather spectacular – it’s too bad that your weekend finished so memorably. At least you’re feeling better now though.

    • Yes, lets hope that the weather keeps up and we get to have another great weekend ahead of us!


Leave a Reply

Categories

