Posted by: mommyq | June 8, 2005

36 Weeks

The home stretch is here as we enter the FINAL month! I never thought I would get to this point! LOL

Had my midwife appointment this week and all is looking good. Blood pressure is 120/83 and babies HB is still in the 160s. My uterus is measuring 37 weeks so I am not measuring TOO far ahead (which is GOOD news with the diabetes). Syd’s head is down but she is not yet fully engaged. She is starting to drop further as I continue to feel an increase in pressure down there. My heartburn is all but gone which means that she has dropped in the last few weeks. My next appointment is in 2 weeks where my MW will do a swab to test for Group B Strep which in a nutshell is a vaginal infection in the mom that can be passed to the baby during delivery. If the infection is present, antibiotics will be administered during delivery to offer protection to the baby. Also, at that point, my file will be transferred to a binder that I get to take home with me and I start my weekly appointments. I talked with my midwife about my concerns of going fully to term and/or past due with my GD and having to have a c-section and that I wanted to start now with natural labour stimulants. She had a homeopathic kit for me but after getting home and doing some research on the herbs, I decided not to take them. Instead I will follow the other methods such as drinking Red Raspberry Leaf Tea, walking, warm baths with lavender and the act that got us in this predicament in the first place! 😉 LOL At my next appointment, we will also be discussing a stretch and sweep so I have some time to decide if I want this done. Basically, this is where the membranes are separated from the inside of the cervix. Decisions, decisions!

Not sure if I updated on this already but I am also going for another U/S on the 14th. It is a biophysical profile that will look at baby’s heart rate, levels of amniotic fluid, breathing tone, body movements and will give us an indication of size!

On to the update:

Week 36!

Fat is deposited on the cheeks of your baby this week and powerful sucking muscles also contribute to your baby’s full face. Your baby now weighs approximately 6 pounds (2750 grams).

Your baby could drop into the birth canal now at any moment(also known as lightening). So make sure you have your hospital bags packed and everything is organized for when the magical time comes. Starting this week, you may begin to see your health care provider every week. Your doctor or midwife may give you an internal exam to determine if cervical effacement (thinning of the cervix) or dilation (opening of the cervix) has begun. Your appetite may return because the baby is no longer putting as much pressure on your stomach and intestines and, if you’ve been experiencing heartburn, the baby’s descent into the birth canal may somewhat alleviate it.

Are you 36 weeks pregnant? Check out PregnancyCorner.com’s week by week calendar to learn more about you and your baby.

Responses

  1. Don’t forget the EPO!! It will come in really handy for softening your cervix during the stretch and sweep!!

    • Thanks for the reminder!!! I am going to start taking that orally but I am still not to sold on the whole inserting of it!

      • LMAO! I wasn’t big on it either till I went over due!! Then I really didn’t care! LMAO!

      • Maybe I will bring my capsules with me to my next MW appointment and get her to do it since she will be poking around anyways! LMAO

  2. Final month

    Wow – how time flies. I cannot believe that you are going into the final month already. She’s almost here.

    I’ve been doing most of my journal reading from work – with no ability to post, so I figure to do one regarding the last couple in one 😉

    If you get really desperate to clean under the fridge (I know once I get something like that into my head – it drives me absolutely batty) I can send over my Pat to help your Pat move it – then you can clean to your heart’s content.

    It is too bad that the Eddy Bauer system is too big – I know I’ve tested out a couple of models and it is one of my favourites. But there are other ones that aren’t bad at all.

    See ya on Sunday – Pam

    • Re: Final month

      Thanks for the offer! I did a great job of cleaning around it so I may be able to get away with it but, if I change my mind, I will let you guys know! 😀

      We have actually decided to keep the Eddy Bauer system. I made the mistake of putting together the stroller yesterday as my mom wanted to add a few things to it and get her gift ready for tomorrow and I am in love! So, if they means we both have to move our seats forward a few inches, so be it! LOL I think Pat and Oli (the expert baby seat man) are going to try installing it tomorrow and we will see what we can do.

      See you Sunday!

      • Re: Final month

        Okay – no problem. I have fridge-moving man if you require though. He’s good and is cheap – I mean he works cheaply.

        I can tell why – I saw it yesterday and thought to myself “No way she’s gonna give it up”. I saw Pat getting help to install the seat and knew that you guys were going to try and keep it.

        I had a great time on Sunday – It was good to see you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

