Posted by: mommyq | July 12, 2005

1st Doctors Appointment!

We had our first doctors appointment today to get Syd’s thrush looked at and we met our new family doctor for the first time. Pat was working today so we left the house at 6:45 to drive him to work. Thankfully, aunty Shannon had spent the previous night and didn’t have to leave for work until 8am so we left Syd in her capable hands and I drove Pat to work on my own. When I got back to the condo, I parked up in the visitor parking since I was going to be going out again and when I was getting out of the car, I heard this weird dinging. In my half asleep, half rushing to get back to the baby state, I paid it no attention and went on my way.

I got Syd dressed, fed and ready to go and I must say she looked cute as ever!


I then got her into her car seat and down to the car for 10:10! Things were running SMOOTHLY! With Syd strapped in, I got behind the wheel, put the key in the ignition, turned it and NOTHING!!!!!! I tried again a few times turning the steering wheel to ensure it wasn’t locked. A strange light with a lock and a car was coming on so I had figured that maybe the alarm was armed and maybe that was why the car wasn’t starting. I tried locking and unlocking the doors and noticed that there was no beep as per usual. So, I grabbed Syd and we ran back upstairs to call Saturn. The service desk was very helpful and said that it was most likely the battery (at this point, I had flashbacks to the morning and the dinging THAT I IGNORED and knew he was right!). So, back down to the lobby to find a boost! Thankfully, one of the maintenance guys had cables and was happy to give me a boost! We were back in business and on the road with 10 minutes to spare till our appointment! I had to get moving! I called the doctors office again and told them that I had managed to get my car started and although I was running late, I was on my way! Thankfully, the doctor wasn’t busy and was running about 20 minutes behind schedule so I was able to get in, fill out the forms and get settled into the baby room. The receptionist was going to take Syd’s measurements when our little princess decided it was time to poop! LOL So, I watched her stress and strain for the usual 15 minute session with the receptionist coming in periodically to check if she was done!

The rest of the appointment went off without a hitch and we really like our new family doctor. She was thorough and took the time to answer all of my questions (while Syd, who decided she was starving had some lunch!). The doctor also paid me quite the compliment when she asked if I had any other children because I seemed so at ease and relaxed in dealing with my daughter and she didn’t see that very often with first time moms!

After I filled Syd’s prescription for her thrush, it was off to Costco for some wipes and formula etc. I was sad to learn that Costco no longer carries Nestle Goodstart formula as they now ONLY carry the Kirkland brand! 😛 Then, after Costco, we went for a visit to Grandma Paca’s house where Madelaine and Olivia danced the Macarena for Sydney all afternoon! LOL Every time they did it, she would nod off to sleep so they were convinced the macarena was the cause. Madelaine even suggested that I get a CD with the song on it for home for the next time I had trouble getting her to sleep! LMAO I love those two! They are the most grown up little girls that I know!

We are home now and settled and little Miss Syd was VERY pooped from her day of fun and excitement!



You know she is UBER tired when she clutches the soother to her mouth for dear life! LMAO

Responses

  1. She is such a little cutie!!!! Her outfit is just precious!

    • Thanks! How are you doing? Must be getting close for you now as well!!

      • Less than a month till my due date! I have no thoughts about if this baby is going to come early or late but August 11th is the official due date. We still have some more work to do on the baby’s room – its half painted and all the furtniture is pushed to the middle, but my hospital bag is finally packed so I am considering myself ready!

  2. What a day Sue!! Welcome to the wonderful busy world of Mommy-hood. I swear…I would lose my head if it wasn’t attached to my body! LOL!

    Syd looked adorable in that outfit. 🙂

    • Oh BTW, we were just at Costco tonight and ours still carries Good Start…

      Might be worth a road trip to the North in the near future *hint, hint* (hey, you can’t blame me for trying!). 🙂

      • LOL Ohhh, bribing with the formula! LMAO

        Mommy-hood certainly is trying at time and I only have 1 so I cannot even imagine how trying it must be for you guys!

  3. OMG Sue, she is changing so much, I can’t believe it. I really need to see her this week!!!

    Is she doing better now with her thrush?

    Lots of Love,

    Cathy

    • Hey Cath! The thrush is actually MUCH better even since yesterday. She has had 4 doses of the medicine so far and the dr. also suggested giving her water after formula to rinse out her mouth (and also to help with her pooping) and her mouth is almost completely clear of the white spots!

  4. She is such a doll Sue! Love her outfit !!:)

    Take Care

    Carol 🙂

    • Thanks Carol.

      She certainly has the cutest closet of clothes. Very much a girly girl already! LOL

  5. Glad it was cleared up so quickly

    I’m glad that they were able to just give it something to make it go away. She is possibly the cutest little thing I have seen – ever. What a little doll she is! I want to pick her up and bring her home – but I won’t *sigh* Too bad for me LOL I can’t believe she’s posing for the camera already….


Leave a Reply

Categories

