Posted by: mommyq | July 19, 2005

It is NOT all sunshine and roses!

You know, for all of the books that you read and for all of the people that you talk to about becoming a parent, there really is NOTHING that can prepare you like the real thing. šŸ˜¦ I always knew it wasn’t going to be easy but I had no idea that there would be days that were SO hard. And, to add insult to injury, whoever invented this whole birthing/parenting process decided it would be fun to throw hormones into the mix with lack of sleep….NOT NICE!

Sunday night was the start of our troubles. Little Syd for whatever reason would not sleep longer than an hour and a half at any given point AND, she wanted to eat every time she got up. Then, at 6am she decided that she was done with sleeping and it was AWAKE time. So, needless to say, Monday was a day of EXTREME sleep deprivation. To make matters worse, I was at the point on Monday where I was too tired to even nap after she went down at about 10am. She was very fussy even after that and would wake each time I tried to put her down. Finally, at about 2pm, she settled in for a longer snooze and Pat was able to go and get some groceries and I tried to take a load off for a bit. I managed to sleep for about an hour but, then Syd decided that she wanted to fuss some more. At this point, I was getting so frustrated. It is so hard not to fall into the trap of thinking that you are doing something wrong when your baby is not happy and content. Pat could sense my frustration and suggested that I go and take a shower and relax for a bit. Well, little did he know that this would lead to me coming completely UNGLUED! LOL

I went to grab towels for my shower and realized that they were all in the laundry. I had put a load in the day before and got so busy with everything that they never made it to the dryer. This is where lack of sleep and hormones collided and I just started sobbing as I was throwing towels from the washer into the dryer and muttering something about being totally incapable of keeping my house running. Poor Pat at this point probably was thinking that he was going to have to commit me! LOL He was quick to the rescue and managed to find some towels that were under some sheets in the linen closet and then held me for the next 20 minutes while I cried! He managed to do and say exactly what I needed to hear to finally get myself to calm down and take my shower.

Once out of the shower, I felt clean and awake and back to my self. We went on to have a great evening with Pat’s dad, step-mom and sister who came to visit Syd. Pat made dinner and then cleaned up everything after dinner. I was ordered to sit down and relax and not lift a finger. I really do have the best husband in the world and I probably would have lost my mind ages ago if it wasn’t for him. He has been so sweet and supportive and always knows exactly what to do and say. He is an amazing husband and an amazing father and Syd and I are so very lucky to have him!

Well, enough babbling from me…on to what you all come her for..pictures of Syd! LOL With everything going on, I only have 2 new ones to share today!

(I just realized the humour in teh fact that my entire post was about how she has NOT been sleeping and the two pictures that I managed to take of her…SHE IS SLEEPING!! LMAO)

Responses

  1. Love the pic of Sydney holding onto her stuffed toy . So sweet šŸ™‚ Take one day at a time Suzie. It does get better and you are doing a great job šŸ™‚

    Take Care

    Carol

    • Thanks Carol!

      I have to admit….the teddy bear was a plant by daddy! LOL I just thought it was so cute I had to capture the moment!

  2. Oh Suzie… {{HUGS}}

    It’s not easy, but you will survive these difficult months and come out the other end with an older baby that is not so needy anymore. That’s when you will pine for the newborn days again! LOL!! Us Moms are a sick bunch! LOL!

    Please remember to give yourself a break both physically and emotionally. You are being so hard on yourself. You are a great Mom and everyone can see it. Getting overwhelmed with the housework and baby care is just part of adjusting to being a new Mommy. Heck, I lost it just yesterday b/c I couldn’t get the laundry folded faster than Natalia could pull it back out of the basket! UGH!

    Can’t wait till I am back home…I would be there to help you out right now if I could. (or at least steal you for an hour for a coffee date)

    The new pics of Syd are adorable!! She is getting so big already and her nose is just so cute, I could eat it!!!!!!!! šŸ™‚

    Love Dane šŸ™‚

    • Thanks Dane! šŸ™‚ I know about being a sick bunch. When Pat has her and is holding her and taking care of her, I cannot help but hover around and that interferes with me napping. If she is awake, I am awake. I guess part of me is afraid to miss something! LOL

      Cannot wait for you guys to move back as well!! I could certainly use some Kuzmanovski Jeep Therapy (TM) LOL.

  3. Oh Sue, I feel so bad for you right now. Even though I don’t have kids of my own, I remember from when Madelaine and Olivia were young, just how hard it was on V. But, I know that this won’t last forever, once Syd gets into her routine and gets a little older, things will be so much easier šŸ™‚

    Now, here’s some advice for you. Your mom is only a 10 minute drive away and I know how much she loves spending time with Syd. Have her come over one day and watch Syd while you go out and get your nails done or have a massage and do some shopping, grab an ice-cap etc. Just spend some time alone….it will do you wonders.

    Also, I’m here to help in any way that I can too…..just ask šŸ™‚

    Love,

    Cathy

    • So cute

      Its sometimes tough for those of us who are gushing over the photos to remember that she’s not just a little doll, but a little girl who can be very demanding. The only thing I can say is that I agree with Cathy – you have people who love to get to spend time with your daughter – your mom namely. You and Pat don’t have to do it all – at this stage, she’s not going to start walking and talking without you. An hour out of a day – heck even a walk around the block on your own, with your own thoughts – might be just what you need to get through the rest of the week. You aren’t being selfish to take that time, but renewing yourself to be the best you can for Syd and for Pat and for yourself.

      And….now on to my gushing….she’s actually holding on to the stuffed animal…how cute!

      And just as a sidebar, as much as I love the photos of Syd, your commentary is what brings me around……

      • Re: So cute

        BTW, my Pat just came in the room and saw the pic of Syd with her teddy and said “Ohhhhhhhh…..” So there you have it from the male perspective. LOL I had to share šŸ™‚

      • Re: So cute

        Thanks Pam. Great advice. Now, the question is..will I be able to take it! HA HA I still find it so hard to be away from her. I do enjoy my showers as they are my time to relax and collect my thoughts but, as for leaving the house without her…I am not ready! LOL

    • Thanks Cath!

      I do know that it will get easier! Heck, for the most part, she really is an awesome tempered baby and I feel bad complaining when there are people out there dealing with babies that SCREAM all day and night.


Leave a Reply

Categories

