Posted by: mommyq | October 7, 2005

I am SICK!

Yes, it has finally caught up to me. I have the sore throat from hell! It is so bad that I can barely speak.

So, to update on our chiropractor visit yesterday. The dr. reviewed everything and presented us with a treatment plan with us which included chiropractic visits, massage therapy and nutritional supplements. It all sounded great until the receptionist came in and gave us the COST of everything! YIKES. We went ahead and had her adjusted and took all of the information home to mull it over. I hopped onto the computer and googled Syd’s condition like crazy.

To give a brief synopsis. She has what is called torticollis which literally means twisted neck and means she is holding her head tilted with chin pointing in the opposite direction. This causes the muscles on one side to stretch and lengthen while the muscles on the other side are shortening and contracting.

The chiropractor explained that this is often caused in the womb or during delivery which, in our case makes perfect sense since Syd’s head was banging on my pelic bone for so long.

So, after researching, I found that torticollis can also be treated with physio therapy which for anyone under 19 is covered by OHIP! (score 1 point for frugal mom! HA HA) So, I just called to see if we can get in to see our pediatrician today and get her views and a referral to a physio therapist.

We have fresh off the press from this mornings TUMMY time:


Responses

  1. Oh no!! I hope you’re feeling better soon!!! Time for you to have a hot toddy, or at least a big martini! LOL!

    Love the tummy pics! What a cutie. πŸ™‚

    Have a great holiday weekend…

    Love Dane πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Dane. I am already feeling much better! I didn’t have the hot toddy because I am paranoid that that will be the night the baby decides to wake up! LOL

      Hope you guys had a great Thanksgiving weekend!

  2. Hi Sue,

    I’m glad you’re feeling better πŸ™‚

    Poor Syd but great for you looking into the condition online and finding out about physio-therapy!!!

    Cathy

    • Thanks Cath! We are all better now. Syd didn’t really get much other than a bit of a stuffy nose and thanks to our cold mist humidifier, that went away pretty quickly!


Leave a comment

Categories