Posted by: mommyq | October 13, 2005

All is well with the world!

Today is the third day in a row where going down for a nap has not required a duel! LOL One of the ladies on my pregnancy board shared a tip that she had read in one of the many baby books and it had always worked for her!

She told me to start putting Syd down ONLY when I felt her little hands warm up and not before. Babies hands are always cool to the touch unless they are tired. There must be some physiological response to tiredness which makes their little hands warm up. So, when I have noticed her hands warm up, I head for the crib and it has worked now for 3 days straight. Tuesday, I first put her down when she started to get cranky. I settled her and put her into her crib. Well, the minute I closed the door she started with the fuss fuss fuss. So, I picked her up and we played through the crankiness. Then, about 35 minutes later, I felt her hands warm up and so I ran her to the bedroom, turned on her sleep music, gave her kisses and put her down. I went on to the kitchen and started to do some chores around and it took about 20 minutes before I even clued in. I said to Pat, “do you hear that?” and he said, “no…what?”. “SILENCE! She went to sleep without ANY fuss!!!!!” She slept for 2.5 hours that morning and then again in the afternoon, we waited on the warm hands and she slept for 1.5 hours. Yesterday, same thing..I didn’t even bother putting her down before I felt the warm hands and as soon as she was in the crib, she had her thumb in her mouth and was asleep before I even LEFT the room. She slept 3 hours yesterday morning and again 1.5 hours in the afternoon. And, as I sit her and type this now, I have a baby sleeping in her crib without a fuss to go. I put her down, rubbed her little belly and she immediately stuck her thumb in her mouth, turned her head to the side and closed her eyes. I am so happy right now I could cry!

Without spending my entire day trying to put a baby to sleep, I have time for me, more energy for her and things that need doing around here. Everything is just great (god, I hope I didn’t just JINX myself! lol). Yesterday was a bit cooler than normal so, I made sure that Syd was all warm and cozy and, nothing says COZY like a velour tracksuit:

In the afternoon, we decided to brave the cooler weather and go for a walk. (Mostly because mommy REALLY wanted her Timmies! LOL) I bundled her up in her stroller and we went for it. The front of our building is like a giant wind tunnel and it was so cute to watch Syd’s reaction to the strong wind! She made those noises that she makes when we blow in her face but they were just WAY louder! LOL She then let out a big squeal at the end. It was so funny because I had her nice and wrapped up and most of the time, she wriggles enough to get her hands out or to get her blanket over her face but, she didn’t move them the entire time we were walking! LOL I checked her periodically to make sure she didn’t get cold and she was fine the whole time. Every time I peeked around the stroller at her, she just smiled at me! HA HA I guess she likes the fall!


All bundled up and ready for our walk!

Oh, and if anyone is wondering about the rolled up towel, that is our way of keeping her from tilting her head too much to that side. It really has been working well since she no longer complains about it! And, she isn’t stupid…if she REALLY needs to put her head to the side, she figures out a way to get around the towel! LOL It doesn’t take them long does it!

Well, I should get going and finish up some of the stuff on my to-do list! My next post I should have a link to our NEWLY updated website. I have been working on the redesign since Syd was born and then I left it with only a few things left to do and didn’t really give it any serious thought. Well, Dana launched her redesign this week and it inspired me to finish off what I had been working on! Healthy competition really is great for getting your butt in gear.

Responses

  1. Lmao! I say the same thing to Oli about competition. The only problem is, that I am going to have to work on my site again once yours is launched!!! LOL!!! Stop it!!! 😉

    Love the pics!! She looks so cute in the track suit! We used to call Joshie “Rocky” when we put him in it. 😉

    • Well, start working because it is FINALLY done!!!!

      Love, love, love the track suit! Thanks!

      I had to add a little pink t-shirt or Pat would have accused me of trying to dress her up like a little boy! LOL I am LOLing that this track suit made it through Josh, Gabe, Talia and now Sydney! LOL It looks pretty good for all of the wear and tear!

  2. You certainly are becoming a pro at being a mommy! Sounds like you enjoy it too.

    I love the track suit. In the picture it looks like she is saying “Yeah – that’s right. I look good!”

    Talk to you soon.

    Pam

    • Or I am really good at faking being a pro mommy! 😉 LOL

      And yes, I think my little girl knows she looks good! That is probably the reason she is always hamming it up for the camera.


Leave a Reply

Categories

