Posted by: mommyq | October 13, 2005

Rollin, rollin, rollin….

Sydney ROLLED OVER TODAY!!!!

I have to say, I have done many things in my life and I have accomplished a lot. However, I have to say that I have NEVER felt as proud as I did today! For the last few weeks, I have been a little neurotic with the whole rolling thing because, according to all of the developmental sites, this milestone should be happening at around 3 months. I have spent countless hours every day with Syd on her tummy, then helping her roll over onto her back, then helping her roll onto her tummy. Back and forth, back and forth. We would do this OVER and OVER and OVER again. At some points, I have even gotten down with her and demonstrated what rolling on your own should look like! 🙂 LOL

Well, today, with lots of encouragement and cheering on, she FINALLY figured it out:


Our starting point.


Here we go…


Clean landing…


Here she is looking very PLEASED with herself.

I was so excited when it happened that this silly first time mom actually CRIED! LOL Pat called moments after it happened and I answered the phone with “Guess who JUST ROLLED OVER!” He was a little disappointed that he missed it but Syd was more than happy to do a demonstration for daddy when he got home.

These pictures were not taken on the first roll. Basically, once she did it the first time, I rolled her back over to see if she would do it again! LOL After about 4 times of it, I figured it wasn’t a fluke and got out the camera.

In other breaking news, thanks to daddy’s hard work and lessons, Syd has now taking to sticking her tongue out at us!!! LOL She loves doing it and gets so excited when she manages it! LOL Today, she was napping and I didn’t want her sleeping too late as I wanted to start her night-time routine and I didn’t want to interfere with her bedtime. So, at 5pm, I went in to get her up and she opened one eye, gave me a stink face and stuck her tongue out at me! LOL So, I left her and not even 5 minutes later she was awake and bellowing for me! So, I went and got her and when I picked her up she was soooo hungry she was eating my face. So, I put her down on my bed and went to get a bottle. When I got back with the bottle, she was sucking her thumb and sleeping!

But, nothing like a few flashes of the camera to wake her up again!

Daddy was working tonight so we had a girls night alone. We rolled some more, had some food, a nice long play-time bath, a massage, cuddles and off to bed.

GNIGHT!

And last, but certainly not least…the updates to our site are FINALLY done!!!!!!!!!

www3.sympatico.ca/quinnfamily/

There are still a few pages that I am working on but the bulk is DONE! Now, the next step is to get our own domain and make it official! LOL

Responses

  1. Yippppeeeee!!! Yay for Sydney!!!!! I keep thinking I shoudl be “practicing” with Mollie
    She hasn’t made any motions to roll and I keep wondering if that is normal. I guess she will do it eventually. Are they supposed to roll form front to back or back to front first?

    • She will do it when she is ready! LOL I was the same way with Syd..I worried and worried and she made no attempt at it either but, once she got it, she tries all the time now.

      She will most likely roll from front to back first as they say that is easier for them. I don’t anticipate the back to front milestone for SOME time because Syd HATES being on her tummy so there is no motivation to roll that way for her! LOL

  2. Way to go Syd!!!

    Sue, your website looks great!

    Cathy

    • Thanks Cath. I needed that extra push of Dana updating hers to get me to finish it.

  3. Yay!!

    Hooray for Sydney!!! The web site looks great Sue!!

    Nicole

    • Re: Yay!!

      Thanks Nicole. I am so excited for her. My little baby is growing up! Yipeee but boooo all at the same time.

  4. Your site looks GREAT Sue! 🙂

    Now I can get even more pics of Syd and the Quinn family when I need a fix. 😉

    Makes me want to re-do mine AGAIN! LMAO!! If only my freaking site was even up!!! Grrrrrrrr.

    Love it Sue…and WTG Syd on the rolling over! Woohoo!

    • Oops! That was me! LOL!!

      • Thanks for the inspiration Dana, I couldn’t have done it without you! LOL

        Glad that your site is “almost” all back up and running again!

  5. Yeah for Sydney!!! I was LOL at your rolling on the floor to show her 🙂 What us mums do , eh? LOL!
    BTW Your website looks great! You did an awsome job 🙂

    Have a great weekend!!!

    Take Care
    Carol

    • Yes, we are a crazy bunch! Patrick was like “relax, she’ll do it when she is good and ready” and me, I was DETERMINED to get it happening and, my dedication paid off!


Leave a Reply

Categories

