Posted by: mommyq | November 29, 2005

Babies and Migraines DO NOT mix!

Having a migraine is normally a very painful experience that requires medication, lots of hot showers, plenty of time in a dark room and very little noise. Having a migraine with a baby involves all of the above repeated several times as the squeals and cries of a 5 month old compound the situation. LOL Thankfully for me, I have the support of a great husband and the help of a mom who is very quick to respond to the distress call of her loving daughter! 🙂

But, first I will start with the details of our fantastic weekend. Friday Pat and I had a much needed and long overdue DATE night. He was originally slated to work 7am – 3pm but, the day before, he was switched to a 12 hour shift ending at 7pm. Thankfully all was not lost and we met for dinner at the Keg at around 7:30. We had a great time, ate fantastic food and enjoyed lots of laughs. As is the case with all parents, we spent the first 1/2 hour of our date talking about our little punkin. I told Pat about the cute little Christmas dress I picked up for her that afternoon (that I just HAD to try on her and take pictures):

I also told him how she, for the first time, made the attempt to sit up. I had her striped down to her diaper and was getting ready to put the dress on her when she started trying to lift her little head (it looked like she was attempting ab crunches). LOL It was very cute.

After our dinner, we made our way to the theater for the 10:30 showing of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. We arrived an hour early for the show so, we walked around the mall and did some window shopping. The movie was good…very dark and scary for a children’s flick and ended at about 1:30am!! At this point, we were both exhausted and made our way home for some much needed SLEEP.

My mom watched Syd for us and stayed the night (since we got home at about 2am) so, she was kind enough to get up with her at 7am and let us get some SLEEP! Syd and I were meeting my friends for Saturday morning brunch so, I woke up at 9am and ran around for the next hour and a half getting Syd ready and then having about 15 minutes to get myself showered and dressed! LOL Needless to say she, as usual, ended up looking MUCH cuter than her mommy! HA HA

It was cool and rainy that day but, Syd was as snug as a bug in a rug:

She was very social for the first little bit but, then got tired and cranky. She fussed for a while but I finally managed to get her fed and asleep so I could enjoy brunch (yummy yummy Dim Sum) and the company of my gal pals.

We got home at about 2:30pm and daddy was sleeping so, we spent the rest of the afternoon playing in the living room. Sunday was a veg day for all of us. Pat had worked a night shift the day before and I had been running around all day Friday and Saturday so, we just stayed home and did some minimal tidying! 🙂

Then, Monday was migraine day for mommy. HA HA I won’t go into too much detail but, I woke up with a migraine and it didn’t go away until about 8pm that night. I am feeling MUCH better today and Syd and I even managed to get out for a walk after the rain stopped pouring. It wasn’t too cold and it was a good way to waste an hour before her bedtime.

Pat just walked in the door and is warming up his dinner so, I should go and see how his day was.

Responses

  1. Hi Sue sorry to hear about your migraine, I know they can be very painfull.

    Sydney looks so cute in her little dress, she is so adorable, I just love her.

    Teta Mila

    • Thanks Teta!

      Congrats again on being a GRANDMA!!!

  2. What a cute dress!! She looks like Mrs. Claus!!

    Sorry to hear about your migraine but glad to hear you are feeling better 🙂

    Cathy

    • HA HA HA Thanks Cath…I picked the dress because the Mrs. Claus look was exactly what I wanted. SO, as soon as I saw it, I knew it was the one.

  3. So sweet!

    Syd looks adorable in that outfit!!! Matt & I need a date night….VERY SOON!!! Glad you & Pat got some alone time!!

    Nicole

    • Re: So sweet!

      Date nights are great Nicole! We had such a nice time and it really helps remind you why you got married in teh first place.

  4. Love that outfit, Sue!! How adorable! 🙂

    I’m glad you finally got rid of the migraine.
    Being sick when you’re a Mommy really sucks. 😦

    Love Dane 🙂

    • Thanks Dane.

      I cannot even imagine how you are sick with 4 of them! YIKES! LOL

  5. Sue I’m so envious of your date night. I want to go to the Keg too!! Glad you guys had a great time and sorry to hear about your migraine but hopefully it will stay away.

    Lor

    • The Keg has always been one of my favorites so, I am always in the mood to go there!

  6. Glad to hear you two got to go out for dinner and a movie – just the two of you.

    Sorry to hear about the migraine – I know that they can be brutal. Glad you are feeling better.

    Pam

    • Thanks Pam! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

