Posted by: mommyq | December 9, 2005

And so it begins…

Today, Syd and I embarked on the wonderful journey of solid foods and, I am happy to report that it was a SMASHING success. I had to visit a health food store this morning as my pediatrician recommended starting her on brown rice cereal to help with her constipation and of course, you cannot get it at the regular stores! LOL But, it actually worked out well because I got 2 boxes of certified organic cereal (1 brown rice and 1 barley) for less than it would have cost for 2 boxes of Heinz cereal.

When we got home I gave her her noon bottle and then while my hubby got her all strapped into the car seat, I mixed up 1 tablespoon of the cereal with about and ounce and a half of formula.

I placed a small glob on her tongue and let her do the rest. She instantly started smacking her lips. She still has a bit of the thrust reflex and she was sucking it in more than swallowing but, I am sure she will get the hang of it in no time. I demonstrated for her before each bite so, that should help. She kept opening her mouth for more and at one point she even said, “mmmmmmm….[[smack, smack, smack]]”. It was the cutest thing. We took our time and didn’t rush her but, before we knew it, she had eaten almost every bit.


First spoonfull

She didn’t make any stinky faces and was staring at the bowl and spoon the entire time waiting for the next morsel.


Opening up for more.


Hey daddy, get a picture of THIS.


If I stick my tongue out…I get it faster…

So, all in all, I am very happy with her first experience and glad that it was so positive. I had worried about her not eating as much formula but, at 3:30 she polished off an entire 6oz bottle and is now napping like an angel.

My pediatrician suggested doing 5 days per new item so, it works out perfectly that she will have tried all 3 of the single grains and be ready for veggies on Dec 24th (a day before she turns 6 months!).

I am really glad that I waited as long as I did and hope that we don’t have any bumps in the road. My biggest fear about starting solids was interrupting her GREAT night sleep (as I have heard this can happen if you start before they are ready) so, I am anxious about tonight to see how she sleeps!

Responses

  1. Mmmm…

    She looks like she enjoyed it!!!

    Nicole

    • Re: Mmmm…

      She really did. My baby loves her cereal! LOL I think it is her favorite part of the day.

  2. Way to go Syd!! Looks like she is really enjoying her cereal. Just wait until the fruits & veggies come. She will love them!!

    Lor

    • I am really excited to get going with the fruits and veggies as well!

  3. Wow it looks like she really enjoyed her cereal!!!

    Cathy

    • BRAVO!

      Good stuff, Suzy-Q! Glad Syd is loving her excursion into “real-food’land”, it’s a lot of fun…messy but fun. :o) Just wait until you get to veggies.

      Love and hugs,
      Pamela

      • Re: BRAVO!

        Thanks Pam! I am looking forward to it! How is Ethan enjoying his good eats?

    • She did Cath. I think this is her turning point from being a skinny minny to a bit of a pork chop! LOL She chows down like nobody’s business when it comes to cereal time.

  4. How exciting, Sue!!! She looks like she loved the cereal!! WTG Syd!

    Love the content eating face she has. 🙂

    So?? How has she been sleeping? Do you notice a difference (better or worse) since you started cereal?

    • Thanks Dane!

      Sleeping has been GREAT (thank goodness). She did wake up at about 8pm today with what I think was bad gas but, we started Barley today so, I will have to keep an eye on it and see if it continues.


Leave a Reply

Categories

