Posted by: mommyq | December 14, 2005

Foodland Canada!!

So, the food journey is well underway! Syd successfully had her rice cereal and had no problems with it. Today, we tried Barley cereal and I noticed a bit of spit-up and LOTS of gas (to the point where she actually woke up at 8pm tonight with some farts and belches). So, I will have to keep a close eye on her over the next few days to determine if it was the barley or just an upset tummy day.

Last night I made my first batches of home-made baby food and it was so easy and so fun. I made Butternut Squash and Avocado and the entire process (after cooking the squash) took 1 hour for scooping, pureeing, putting into the freezer trays and cleaning up!


The fruits of my labour:

Squash

Avocado

Then this morning, I moved them into Ziplock bags and put them in the deep freeze. They are good frozen for 3 months but only 6 weeks from when I first open the Ziploc to remove a cube. The amount that I made should only last 2-3 weeks so, it works out perfectly.

This afternoon I did a batch of sweet potatoes and it is currently in the freezer waiting to be packaged up. So, all in all, a good start.

In other news, since our professional Christmas pics are not going to be done till the 20th, I had to get my butt in gear and do some home-baked pics for our Christmas cards. I don’t want to post the official one yet (as not to ruin it) so, I am just posting some of the funny out-takes:


This hat is really heavy mommy and it makes me TIRED


Syd after a heavy night of X-mas partying


All smiles and giggles


Being THIS cute is HARD work


Whoooo hooooooo FEET!


Are we DONE yet?

On Sunday we went to my girlfriend Patrica’s house for a Christmas get together and Syd got to meet her 3 month old son Rowan. They certainly hit it off and were holding hands before we knew it:

In yet more exciting news, Syd is now holding her own bottle! She has her morning bottle in our bed while watching some TV and she has been doing really well with finishing most of it before she gets full and drops it! LOL

I figured this was a good bottle to start her with since if she dribbles a bit, she is getting cleaned up a changed to start the day!

She also now knows how to use a sippy cup and seems to be enjoying the variation:

My little girl really is growing up and I am so proud of her accomplishments.

Responses

  1. I love the pics with the Santa hat!!

    Cathy

    • Thanks Cath! She really does love having her picture taken.

  2. Oh Sue, that first picture of Syd with the hat and her eyes closed make her look like an angel…so, so pretty!!!

    I can’t wait to see final product!

    WTG with the baby food! It actually looks delish!

    • It certainly does convey that level of sweetness doesn’t it? LOL

      The baby food was really yummy. I tasted everything before freezing and I think it tastes WAY better than the jar stuff.

  3. Great picture’s Sue!!! At least she keeps her santa hat on….Caden rips his off as fast as I can get it on him!! WTG on the food!

    Nicole 🙂

    • That is too funny Nicole!! Syd probably would rip hers off as well if she was old enough to figure out how. She HATES hates and usually will cry for a sec whenever I put one on her.

  4. Suzie- the Christmas pictures are too cute!! That’s great that Syd is feeding herself the bottle now AND already using a sippy cup. I’ve just about given up on the bottle for Vanessa. I’m going to really try again in the new year. The baby food looks great too. You are so ambitious!!
    Lor

    • Thanks Lor.

      The sippy cup I cannot take credit for! LOL I gave it to her one day and she basically just played with it and wouldn’t put it in her mouth (which is weird because she puts everything in her mouth). Then, the next week I decided to try again and as soon as I gave it to her she stuck it in her mouth and started sucking! LOL It was weird.

  5. Sydney looks so adorable in her Santa hat 🙂 Good for you for making your own baby food. You rock!!

    Have a great weekend!!

    Carol

    • Thanks Carol! Hope you had a good weekend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

