Posted by: mommyq | January 31, 2006

The ALMOST perfect birthday weekend!

So, I am slowly but surely creeping my way to middle age. 😦 I turned 31 on Saturday and, all was well over the weekend as I was being pampered but, now in the cold light of a regular day, it just means I am older! LOL

Pat was off this weekend which was a nice treat in itself so, he made it his mission in life to pamper me! Olivia had her first dance recital Saturday morning so, we woke up at 8am, lounged around for a bit (with Timmies) and then got ready to go. It was Syd’s first trip in her new carseat and she loved it! We got there with enough time to see Olivia before her big performance and she told us that she was REALLY scared! But, she looked excited as well so, that was ok. When the group got up to the front to do their performance, I could see Oliva taking some really DEEP breaths to help calm her fears. Her eyes also welled up a bit..it was heartbreaking. She froze for the first 5 seconds of the performance but, got right back into it and did amazing! I squeezed Pat’s hand during that first 5 second so hard I am shocked his fingers didn’t turn blue! LOL Olivia was by far one of the better dancers in the group.

After the recital, Pat took Sydney and I out for brunch at Denny’s and we ate WAY too much food! LOL After that, we came home and all went down to the pool for a swim and a hot tub. Syd looked SUPER cute in her bathing suit:

and was REALLY excited about going swimming!

While I got Syd bathed and ready for bed, Pat started on my special birthday dinner. The menu:

Salad
Garlic Butter Shrimp
Veal Parm over Angel Hair Pasta

we polished off a bottle of wine we dinner and then for dessert, Pat made little strawberry shortcakes and we polished off a bottle of champagne!

After dinner, he washed all the pans, loaded the dishwasher and cleaned the kitchen!!! It was a perfect birthday.

The next morning was where the “almost” perfect birthday weekend in my title comes in. Little Sydney decided that it was time to wake up at 5am. She played in her crib for about 30 minutes and then started to fuss. Often, I will just let her fuss for a few minutes because some times, she does that while putting herself to sleep but, if it continues on for more than 5 minutes, I go in and check since she has this habit of getting herself stuck in weird positions or getting her feet caught in between the slats of the crib. So, I went in, repositioned her, recovered her, turned on her music and left. The SECOND I closed the door she threw what I can only describe as a TANTRUM! I ran right back in since she had never done this before and, the SECOND I opened the door she stopped!!! LITTLE BUGGAR! So, after a few more tantrums when I closed the door, I figured that at least 1 of us should get some sleep so, I sent Pat back to bed and took Syd in the living room. She pulled the same tantrum for her morning nap so, since I knew she was full, dry and tired, I let her cry. She cried for about 2 minutes and then fell asleep. I cannot believe that I am dealing with the terrible twos at 7 months! LOL Since then, she has done it almost every time I close the door on her but, the length of her cry sessions has gotten shorter and shorter so, hopefully I picked the right way to deal with it.

One of my gifts from Pat was a facial that was booked for Sunday so, Pat and Syd dropped me off and then went and did some shopping while I was being pampered.

Here is Syd in her big girl carseat ready to go!

While shopping, daddy bought Sydney a baseball cap so, once I was done with my spa treatment, we spent the rest of the afternoon at the mall with our little boy:

We had about 4 people refer to Syd as a boy that day. You would think that the PURPLE track suit and PINK bear and PINK blanket would be a give away. We grabbed some luch at the food court and Sydney got to taste her first ever table scraps…. I gave her a bit of Patrick’s New York fries. Needless to say, she LOVED it!

any time I would take it away from her mouth to let her chew what was already in her mouth, she stared at the fry:

She certainly was a happy girl after lunch:

We were meeting Billy and Cathy for an early dinner so, we left the mall, popped in at home to pick up a few things for the diaper bag and went off to meet them at Red Lobster. Since it was a Sunday and 4pm, we had no trouble getting seats. Sydney was originally sitting in a high chair until she decided to bang her head against the table! 😦 She was fine after some daddy cuddles but, we figured it would be best to just put her in her stroller!

It was a wonderful weekend and I enjoyed ALMOST every minute of it! HA HA

Responses

  1. Happy Birthday Suzie

    Sounds like you had a really great weekend Suzie. Glad to hear it. I got hungry just hearing about your dinner Pat made, Denny’s, New York Fries & Red Lobster…
    Sydney looks too cute in her baseball cap. (Not like a boy at all!!) Ty used to get called a girl all the time – even in all blue. Don’t take offense- some people have no clue.
    Lor

    • Re: Happy Birthday Suzie

      Thanks Lor.

      It was a great weekend! I don’t really get bothered when they call her a boy, it just makes me laugh because she is so GIRLY looking it is funny.

  2. Your weekend sounded awesome!!

    Happy 31st to you! 🙂

    I agree…Syd looked NOTHING like a boy! People really are stupid. We have been asked countless times if the boys are TRIPLETS!! DUH!!! LMAO!

    • Thanks Dane!

      That is too funny about the triplets!! Just tell them yes and that you had a REALLY long time between contractions during your delivery! LMAO

  3. Happy Birthday

    I was going to call on the weekend and wish you a happy birthday but figured you’d be off painting the town red – and rightly so judging from this journal. Happy belated birthday!

    I can’t believe how cute Syd is! She’s getting a very mischevious look in her eyes – I think that once the crawling starts, she’ll be a very busy little girl! LOL

    • Re: Happy Birthday

      Oh and I agree with everyone else – Syd is quite obviously a beautiful little girl. I don’t know….maybe the people that called her a boy would dress them in purple and pink!

      • Re: Happy Birthday

        Thanks Pam.

        Syd certainly is very mishevious! LOL I fear the day she starts crawling because I just KNOW she will be into everything!


Leave a Reply

Categories

