Posted by: mommyq | April 14, 2006

Happy Easter!!!

Hope everyone had a great weekend!!

We have been BUSY little beavers here in the Quinn household. I cannot believe that it has been 2 weeks since my last journal entry. Man, time is flying. My little munchkin will be 10 months in a little over a week and it feels like just yesterday that we were at the doctor for her 9 month check up!

Project fatten up Sydney is going OK but, I tell you, that kid is WAY more interested in everything else other than eating! LMAO We have our good days where I successfully get 20oz of formula into her and she eats 3 meals a day and 2 snacks and then we have our bad days where I barely get 16oz into her and she has some of her breakfast, some finger foods for lunch and some of her dinner. But, I think we are doing ok and, she is a happy camper so, we shall see what the scale says at her next doctors visit.

She is on the go (still no crawling except in reverse but, she rolls and pivots like a champ) and she is into EVERYTHING. I can have a floor full of toys and the second I put her down, she is off and into the movie shelf, TV stand, side table, or, trying to reach up and grab whatever is on the coffee table. Just a few days ago, I was folding laundry and sitting with her on the floor and she would roll over, grab something out of the laundry basket (the unfolded stuff), roll away, drop it and roll back to grab something new! LMAO I don’t want to stunt her exploring so, I have just made some minor decor adjustments like replacing the ceramic pot full of potpourri on the bottom shelf of our side table with a big plastic bowl full of plastic balls. Interestingly enough, she has never made a move to pull the plastic bowl off the table compared to the billion times she attempted to pull the ceramic pot away from the same spot. How do they KNOW?


We celebrated Madelaine’s 9th birthday a few weeks back and we attended a small party at my brother’s house. I cannot believe how old both of my nieces are getting! I can remember vividly when they were 5lbs 2oz and 4lbs 12oz respectively. (I might be a few ounces off on their birth weights) 😦

Here is Mede blowing out her birthday candles.

We had a nice time and got to see Cathy in all her pregnant glory! She looks SOOOO cute. I wish I had thought to get a picture (since she has never graced us with a blog to keep tabs on her progress!) 😛 Sydney had fun as well as she always does when her cousins are involved. They love to dance around and act silly and she loves to sit and laugh at them!

Here she is wondering what the heck Numka Cathy just put around her neck.

and enjoying one of the little treats in her loot bag

again we shall note how it went STRAIGHT into her mouth.

Syd is standing really well now and has JUST started making attempts to try and pull herself up. However, she loves to stand in her crib or at the coffee table when mommy helps her get there:

My friend Dora was babysitting her nephew last week so, they came over to visit us in the afternoon for a mini playdate!

Here they are sitting together and doing the universal baby bonding experience…watching Baby Einstein.

and, don’t be fooled by Angelo’s size…he is only 5 1/2 months old! LOL That outfit that he is wearing is a size 12 months! LOL He is sooo cute and those cheeks were just MADE for eating.

My mom had her 5th round of chemo on Wednesday and then we all came back to our house after. Her full treatment involves 8 rounds with the first 4 being a 2 drug combo and then the last 4 a different drug. What we were told is that the last 4 rounds are easier and the side effects are fewer. However, the treatment is longer (3 hours instead of 1 hour) so, we met her at the hospital at 9am and we didn’t leave till about 1:30-2. Syd was an absolute doll and even went down for a 45 minute lap in the lounge area. My mom felt GREAT the day after her treatment and only complained of some minor joint pain yesterday and today (the only real side effect) so, that is good news.

When we got home Wednesday, my mom took off her wig and put on a scarf since she finds it more comfortable and decided to see what Syd would look like wearing her wig.

She looked sooo funny:

but was SOOOO not pleased:

We have a busy weekend ahead of us. Pat is on nights tonight and then is off for 3 days (normally it is 4 but, he took an extra shift to help out so, he will be back at work Tuesday night) so, he is going to come home and crash in the morning and then get up for around noon and get ready as we are heading to Grandma and Grandpa Q’s house for Easter dinner. Then, Sunday we are making the drive up to visit Grandma and Grandpa H for another Easter dinner. Then, Monday night, we are heading to my mom’s house….it isn’t for Easter since the Orthodox Easter isn’t until next weekend but, she is having some guests over and has invited us as well. It should be a busy weekend but, we are looking forward to it since we love to see everyone! 🙂

I think my novel is done and now I am off to get some stuff packed before bed so I can focus on getting laundry done and out of the way tomorrow morning!

Gnight.

Responses

  1. Great post!

    I am so disappointed that you didn’t get a picture of Cathy!! I bet she looks great!
    I am LMAO at the pictures of Syd with your Mom’s wig on. 🙂 She looks too cute!

    Have a great weekend enjoying your Easter Dinners!

    Love Dane 🙂

    • Re: Happy Easter!

      I know Dana, but, I totally redeemed myself and have preggo cathy pics to post in my next journal entry!!!!!

  2. Happy Easter!

    Hey Suzie,

    Great update. Glad to hear your mom is feeling okay. Hope your fatten up Sydney project is successful although I have to say in those pictures she is still looking long and lean (not a bad thing in my opinion though). Hope you guys had a great Easter.
    Lor

    • Re: Happy Easter!

      Thanks Lor. Hope you guys had a great Easter as well! 🙂

  3. The wig makes me laugh – what a picture….Syd coming out of the egg is such a great scrapbook idea!

    Happy upcoming Easter!!!!

    • Thanks Pam. I love the wig pic as well.

      Hope you had a good Easter!

  4. Love the new pics of Syd! And, I’m so glad that your Mom has been doing so well!

    Can’t wait to see Syd on Sunday!

    Cathy

    • Thanks Cath. It was nice seeing you guys on Sunday!! You look soooo cute!

      I am posting your preggo pics right now! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

