Posted by: mommyq | September 20, 2007

14 Weeks

Yes, I know it feels like the last week flew but, I posted my 13 week update LATE so, it hasn’t actually been a full week since my last update.

I am feeling ok.  The symptoms from my blood pressure meds seemed to have started to level out so, now, I am just TIRED but, hopefully that will soon pass.  Who am I kidding, I think as parents we are doomed to be tired for the rest of our lives…well at least until our children grow up and move out and we retire. LOL

I booked my BIG ultrasound this morning so, the countdown to it may now begin.  It is booked for Wednesday, October 24th @ 10am which is 1 month, 4 days away!  In honour of the count down, a little poll to see what everyone thinks:

Click here to Vote

Also feel free to register your guess by posting a comment so that it isn’t anonymous!

Also, I go for a check up with my family doctor tomorrow for my blood pressure.  I am hoping that it has come down enough so that we won’t have to up the dosage (I started on the lowest) so, I will be sure to update tomorrow.  I also owe an update on Syd’s Christening and, I promise I will get to that as well.  Hopefully this weekend.  Our anniversary is coming up (Sept 25th) so, Sydney is going for an overnight to Nanna and Poppa Quinn’s and Pat and I are going out for the evening Saturday.  I joked that after dinner, we would probably come home, crash and maybe sleep past 7-8am! LOL

Well, enough blather…on to the update:

14 weeks pregnant

  • Thyroid gland has matured and your baby begins producing hormones which will be used throughout his or her life.
  • In boys, the prostate gland develops
  • In girls, the ovaries move from the abdomen to the pelvis
  • Your little one may have learned to suck his thumb by this point!
  • Your child’s bones are getting harder and stronger by the day!
  • Your baby’s skin is very transparent still
  • Lanugo (very fine hair) covers the baby’s body and will continue to grow until 26 weeks gestational age – Generally this will be shed prior to birth. Its purpose is to help protect baby’s skin while in all that water!
  • Your baby is 3.42 inches (8.7cm) long and weighs about 1.52 ounces (43 grams) – approximately the weight of a letter!

 

Head to bottom, your baby’s 3 1/2 inches long — about the length of a lemon — and weighs about 1 1/2 ounces. Her body’s growing faster than her head, which now sits upon a more well-defined neck. By the end of this week, her arms will have lengthened and will be in proportion to the rest of her body. (Her legs still have some growing to do, though.) She’s starting to develop an ultra-fine, downy covering of hair all over her body (called lanugo). Her liver starts secreting bile this week, a sign that it’s already functioning properly, and her spleen starts contributing to the production of red blood cells. She’s also producing and discharging urine into the amniotic fluid, a normal process that she’ll keep up until birth. You still can’t feel your baby’s movements, but her hands and feet (which are now half an inch long) are more flexible and active. Thanks to brain impulses, her little facial muscles are getting a workout as she squints, frowns, and grimaces. She can grasp now, too, and she may be able to suck her thumb.

Leave a Reply

Categories

