Posted by: mommyq | October 19, 2007

Big Update….so much to say, sooo little time.

Well, it looks like the last few weeks have taken an interesting turn in my pregnancy.  I am a little nervous about what is to come but, I have so much faith right now in my care providers as they have been completely on the ball that, I am sure all will be fine.

To make a long story short (who am I kidding, prepare yourselves because this is going to be a NOVEL), I am most likely going to now be delivering this baby at Mount Sinai Hospital which is basically the leader in obstetrics and gynaecology.  My midwife decided to sumbit all of my paperwork to the High Risk Pregnancy Clinic for review and follow-up.  As you all already know, my high blood pressure (although being controlled with treatment) puts me in a higher risk category but, together we that, we have a new finding that pretty much guarantees me being monitored through the wazoooo for the remainer of my pregnancy.

As you know, I went to the ER for some pains in my abdomen that were unexplained but, what you didn’t know, and what I found out yesterday is that there was a small abnormality on the upper GI ultrasound that for whatever reason, the tech, the radiologist and the ER doc didn’t think was worth mentioning (I am rolling my eyes at this point).  By fluke, my midwife happened upon it…  Since I had all of the tests done at Markham Stouffville, she has access to all of my records through their computer system and, she was in yesterday looking for my GD test results (which I passed by the way) and, happened to notice that on my US results, it made mention of an enlarged liver.  So, based on the high blood pressure, the cysts found on my ovaries in the beginning on my pregnancy, the fact that I had GD my last pregnancy and now this new liver thing, my midwife decided it was best to consult Mount Sinai and see how they want to proceed.

So, we should know by early next week but, on the off chance that they don’t get back to us before that, my midwife highly recommends that I go in for a liver function test to make sure that everything is working as it should.  The way the high risk clinic works is they have a triage department that reads through all of the files submitted and, they determine how to proceed.  They might come back and say they DON’T need to see me at all and that I can simply be referred to a standard OB (which my midwife believes is not very likely to be the case..LOL), they might want to see me for monitoring but, leave my midwife and an OB consult as my primary care, or they might want to see me for full monitoring during the pregnancy and primary care as well.

So, at this point, I am TRYING my best not to get too anxious about everything and just wait and see what happens.  The baby is fine and thriving so, for right now, that is all that matters.  The stuff going on with me, I can deal with.  I am just SUPER pissed at such glaring incompentence in the ER.  I mean, they sent me HOME no the Friday with no mention of any of this and now here we are a full week later finding out about it.  All I can say is thank GOD for my midwife.

Responses

  1. Suzie – hang in there. Sounds like you are getting the best care out there. Try not be be too anxious- easier said then done though.

  2. The good news is that it has been caught. Now that there will be monitoring up th “wazoo” as you call it :), I’m sure that you will have a great pregnancy…I’ll keep my fingers crossed (cause that will make all the difference).

    Enjoy this time….try not to be anxious.

  3. Thanks ladies.


Leave a Reply

Categories

