Posted by: mommyq | November 25, 2007

Update on Me!

Thought I would take a minute and get online with an udpate.  When I went in on Friday for my usual IV treatment, the doc decided that I would need to be on the IV for at least another 5 days so, he ordered home care for me.  They came Friday evening and, basically I am hooked up 24 hours a day (which is a MAJOR PITA).  I have the IV in my hand (which needs to be changed today) and it is connected to the IV tube which goes through an electronic pump and is attached to the med bag.  One bag lasts 24 hours and, the pump functions to pump the medication for 1 hour every 8 hours.  It also make 1 pump every hour or so to keep the blood from backing up!  It has been fun since I have to carry the bag that contains the meds and pump with me everywhere I go.  I feel like I am 80!!!

As for the leg, it is still swollen and a bit red but, it is slowly getting better.  The swelling has definately come down and, it tingles more than it used to which I am guessing is probably the skin layers healing.  At the same time, I am taking oral antibiotics 4x per day (yes, I said 4)!!!  Once the IV is done, I will continue with the orals till they are finished and, I should hopefull be all better at that point.  I have to book a follow up with my family doctor on Tuesday so that she can re-asses and determine if I need to continue with the IV as well.  I am praying that will not be the case.

Well, off to go and medicate! LOL

Responses

  1. Hope it clears up soon!

  2. Thanks Nicole!!!

  3. OMG Sue!! I had no idea all of this was going on!

    You poor girl. 😦 I’m glad to hear that you are on antis, but WOW…an IV in all the time!

    Praying that the infection heals quickly and you can get back to normal!

    {{HUGS}}

    Love Dane 🙂

  4. Thanks Dane! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

