Posted by: mommyq | February 10, 2008

34 Weeks and counting

Another week has ticked by SLOWLY. LOL   I have an appointment tomorrow for yet another US and, with my doc so, we shall see what it shows.  My foot has swollen quite a bit more than it was over the last few days so, I am not sure if that means anything or, if Noah just moved in the WRONG direction! LOL  This kid moves like crazy.  In the shower in the morning, I just stare down at my belly and watch it just move, shift and ripple all over the place.  The other day, Pat had his hand on my belly and Noah was moving and he was convinced I was doing it because he couldn’t believe how much he was being poked! HA HA

34 Weeks Pregnant

Your baby measures about 19.8 inches from head to toe and weighs about 5 pounds. Baby is probably settling into the head-down position, although it might not be final. Organs are now almost fully mature, except for lungs, and the skin is pink instead of red. Fingernails reach the ends of fingers, but toenails are not yet fully grown. Baby might have lots of hair. Movements are less frequent because of the tight fit.

Your uterus hardens and contracts as practice for labor, known as Braxton Hicks contractions, but you may not feel them yet. Your pelvis has expanded and may ache, especially at the back. Uterus is pushed hard against your lower ribs and your rib cage may be sore, and your navel is probably pushing out as a result of your abdomen being stretched.  Saying I ACHE at this piont is a TOTAL understatement.  I have been having some MAJOR braxton hicks, my back is feeling the strain and, my groin is still feeling major pressure.  One day, I was limping when I would stand up and walk around because my hips/pelvic area was SOOOO sore.

Start thinking about whether you want to breast-feed, which helps increase your child’s immunities. You may want to consult a lactation expert or the La Leche League, an organization that encourages and promotes breast-feeding, or simply talk with friends or relatives who can share their experiences.

By the end of these four weeks, your baby will weigh as much as 5 pounds. Your baby continues to mature and develop reserves of body fat. You may notice that your baby is kicking more. Baby’s brain is developing rapidly at this time, and he or she can hear. Most internal systems are well developed, but the lungs may still be immature.

Are you 34 weeks pregnant? Check out PregnancyCorner.com’s week by week calendar to learn more about you and your baby.

Responses

  1. Oh Suzie, this IS the slowest part, isn’t it? Esp once you get to 36 weeks, when you’re in the last month. Pregnancy definitely lasts 8 months and 2 years…….

  2. Oh Suzie sounds like you have a busy little guy in there. This is the longest stretch I know – I feel like I was just there. Baby Noah will make his arrival though and you will wonder where the time went.


Leave a Reply

Categories

